Latest

Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 14: Knowledge base and question selection / Working with XML

Posted on Sunday, June 24th, 2012

The knowledge- or question-base is at the heart of the program. Here are all questions and answers listed by category. Because it should not be required to create audio files for each of these databases, the first lines of the XML file tells the program if the questions are read aloud in the game or […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 13: The Sound Management

Posted on Sunday, June 17th, 2012

The sound design has a large share of the overall impact of games. Thus, the right music and a properly placed sound-effect subconsciously contribute to the current situation. The desired effect is often achieved only through the interaction of images and sound.   Besides the host of the application, who has only a accustic appearance, […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 12: The Graphics Library

Posted on Sunday, June 10th, 2012

Since graphical objects, such as the buttons on the menus and background images, are used multiple times and in different areas in the program a central location that provides the graphics is essential. The so-called library can be created in Flash decoupled from the actual project and edited independently of the program. Libraries in Flash […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 11: The Storyboard

Posted on Sunday, June 3rd, 2012

After the objectives of the application and conditions are set, the storyboard is created. This describes the general structure and flow of the game. Since this application is a complex trivia game with various mini-games, the planning of the storyboard is divided into two phases: the rough concept, in which the general sequence and basic […]

Continue Reading...
Lab

Game and Remote Control via Smartphone

Posted on Sunday, May 27th, 2012

Almost everyone had already a controller of a WII in hand or at least knows how to use it. With simple hand movements, transfered to the virtual character, this generation of games is controlled.   What works only with games of this specific console is is by principle also possible with other devices. So I […]

Continue Reading...

News

Braincademy live at indiegogo


As some of you know I have been working for over a year on my project Braincademy. Initially, it was ‘only’ a part of my Master’s thesis, but after the CeBIT, I knew that this application should not disappear in the drawer.   So I decided to participate on a contest that was announced in […]

Call me Master of the Universe… or another!


Now it’s official and I can call myself a Master of Science (M. Sc.). After my outstanding performance in my master’s thesis (jepp, 1.0 … what else?) I allow myself to relax a little and do a little holiday. Although standing in my testimony that I would have taken four semesters (the 4th, which begins […]

CeBIT 2012 – Recap


I’m a little late with my CeBIT report because I had a lot to do with my thesis and some other projects …simply too much. But better late than never.   As mentioned before, I had the honor to present my master thesis and another project I worked in (Smart Home Control) at the CeBIT […]

Long time no see


Through a lot of tasks since December – CeBIT, lectures, my master’s thesis and other projects – I was not able to post anything as initially promised. However, since I finished my thesis I’ll make up a little more time to describe step by step the development of my program and discuss interesting and important […]

(Deutsch) Natural User Interface Vortrag am 05.12.2011 in Darmstadt


Sorry, this entry is only available in Deutsch.

Latest

Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 14: Wissensbasis und Fragenauswahl / Arbeiten mit XML

Posted on Sonntag, Juni 24th, 2012

Die Wissens- oder Fragenbasis ist das Herzstück des Programms. In ihr werden alle Fragen und Antworten, die den Spielern gestellt werden können, nach Kategorien sortiert eingetragen. Da es nicht erforderlich sein soll, für jeden dieser Fragenkataloge Audiodateien zu hinterlegen, da die Erstellung der einzelnen Sprachdateien den Arbeitsaufwand um ein Vielfaches erhöht, wird in den ersten […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 13: Das Soundmanagement

Posted on Sonntag, Juni 17th, 2012

Die Tongestaltung hat einen großen Anteil an der Gesamtwirkung von Spielen. So kann die passende Musik und ein richtig platzierter Sound-Effekt unterbewusst zur aktuellen Situation beitragen und je nach Bedarf Zeitdruck auf den Spieler ausüben oder eine ruhige Spielphase untermalen. Dabei entfaltet sich häufig erst die gewünschte Wirkung im Zusammenspiel von Bild und Ton.   […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 12: Die Grafikbibliothek

Posted on Sonntag, Juni 10th, 2012

Da grafische Objekte, wie die Buttons des Menüs oder Hintergrundbilder, mehrmals und in verschiedenen Bereichen im Programm verwendet werden, ist eine zentrale Stelle, die diese Grafiken bereitstellt, von Nöten. Die sogenannte Bibliothek oder Library kann in Flash abgekoppelt vom eigentlichen Projekt erstellt und unabhängig vom Programm bearbeitet werden. Librarys werden in Flash und Flash-Verwandten Programmiersprachen […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 11: Das Storyboard

Posted on Sonntag, Juni 3rd, 2012

Nachdem die Ziele der Anwendung sowie Rahmenbedingungen festgelegt sind, wird das Storyboard erstellt. Dies beschreibt den generellen Aufbau und Ablauf des Spieles. Da es sich bei der hier erstellten Anwendung um ein komplexes Quiz-Spiel mit verschiedenen Mini-Spielen handelt, wird die Planung des Storyboards in zwei Phasen aufgeteilt: das Grobkonzept, in dem der generelle Ablauf und […]

Continue Reading...
Labor

Spiel- und Fernsteuerung via Smartphone

Posted on Sonntag, Mai 27th, 2012

Fast jeder hatte ja bereits schon mal einen Controller einer WII in der Hand gehalten oder weiß zumindest, wie man diesen prinzipiell benutzt. Durch einfache Handbewegungen, die sich auf die virtuelle Figur übertragen, kann diese in der neusten Spiele-Generation gesteuert werden.   Was jedoch nur mit Spielen der entsprechenden Konsole funktioniert ist prinzipiell aber auch […]

Continue Reading...

News

Braincademy live at indiegogo


Wie einige von euch wissen arbeite ich seit gut einem Jahr an meinem Projekt Braincademy. Anfangs war es ’nur‘ ein Teiler meiner Master-Arbeit, aber spätestens nach der CeBIT (und der glatten 1 als Note für die Arbeit) wusste ich dass diese Anwendung nicht in der Schublade verschwinden soll/wird.   So entschloss ich mich bei einem […]

Call me Master of the Universe… or another!


Nun ist es offiziell und ich darf mich Master of Science (M. Sc.) nennen. Nach meiner überragenden Leistung in meiner Master-Thesis (japp, 1.0… was auch sonst) ist aber nun erstmal ein bisschen Urlaub und entspannen angesagt bevor es weiter geht. Zwar wird in meinem Zeugnis stehen dass ich 4 Semester benötigt hätte (das 4. beginnt […]

CeBIT 2012 – Recap


Ich bin etwas spät dran mit meinem CeBIT-Bericht, da mich meine Abschlussarbeit und einige andere Projekte einfach zu sehr aufgehalten haben. Aber besser spät als nie.   Wie schon öfter erwähnt, hatte ich dieses Jahr die Ehre meine Abschlussarbeit und ein weiteres Projekt in dem ich mitgearbeitet habe (Smart Home Control) auf der CeBIT in […]

Long time no see


Durch die vielen Termine seit Dezember – CeBIT, Vorträge, meine Masterarbeit und andere Projekte – kam ich leider nicht dazu hier wie anfangs versprochen Woche für Woche etwas zu posten. Da ich jedoch nun meine Arbeit abgegeben habe und ein bisschen mehr Zeit habe, werde ich dies natürlich nachholen und hier nach und nach die […]

Natural User Interface Vortrag am 05.12.2011 in Darmstadt


An diesem Montag ist es soweit und ich trage in Darmstadt einen Vortrag über Natural User Interfaces. Darin berichte ich nicht nur von der Entwicklung von Benutzeroberflächen im allgemeinen, sondern gehe auch in die Programmierung und gebe einige Beispiele auf welche Punkte man bei NUI-Anwendungen, im Gegensatz zu normalen GUI-Anwendungen, achten muss.   Für alle […]