Latest

General

Braincademy live at indiegogo

Posted on Saturday, September 8th, 2012

As some of you know I have been working for over a year on my project Braincademy. Initially, it was ‘only’ a part of my Master’s thesis, but after the CeBIT, I knew that this application should not disappear in the drawer.   So I decided to participate on a contest that was announced in […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 18: Concept for school use and outlook

Posted on Sunday, July 22nd, 2012

In summary it can be said that the objectives of the work have been achieved, although not all planned components of the application were implemented. Therefore this elements had to be added to the actual game before useing it in schools. This includes not only the creation of the particular subject-appropriate questions further a training […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 17: Evaluation and deployment of the application

Posted on Sunday, July 15th, 2012

The aim of this work has been to develop an edutainment application for natural user interfaces that can be used in the classroom and at home. They should encourage children and young people on a funy way to test their newly acquired knowledge. Care was taken that the game motivates learners by appealing animations, cut […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 16: Mini-Games

Posted on Sunday, July 8th, 2012

Mini-games within the application help to maintain a large varriety in the entertainement process. They challenge the player in other fields than answering questions. Through the various systems on which the application will be able to run, every mini-game itself determines what requirements it has to be playable on the current system Before the individual […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Part 15: Game stages

Posted on Sunday, July 1st, 2012

The development of the component of the Games is one of the most elaborate parts of the application. So during the analysis and design phase of the game a flow chart from the players perspective is created (see right). After choosing the ammount of players in the round, the general procedure is explained to them, […]

Continue Reading...

News

Braincademy live at indiegogo


As some of you know I have been working for over a year on my project Braincademy. Initially, it was ‘only’ a part of my Master’s thesis, but after the CeBIT, I knew that this application should not disappear in the drawer.   So I decided to participate on a contest that was announced in […]

Call me Master of the Universe… or another!


Now it’s official and I can call myself a Master of Science (M. Sc.). After my outstanding performance in my master’s thesis (jepp, 1.0 … what else?) I allow myself to relax a little and do a little holiday. Although standing in my testimony that I would have taken four semesters (the 4th, which begins […]

CeBIT 2012 – Recap


I’m a little late with my CeBIT report because I had a lot to do with my thesis and some other projects …simply too much. But better late than never.   As mentioned before, I had the honor to present my master thesis and another project I worked in (Smart Home Control) at the CeBIT […]

Long time no see


Through a lot of tasks since December – CeBIT, lectures, my master’s thesis and other projects – I was not able to post anything as initially promised. However, since I finished my thesis I’ll make up a little more time to describe step by step the development of my program and discuss interesting and important […]

(Deutsch) Natural User Interface Vortrag am 05.12.2011 in Darmstadt


Sorry, this entry is only available in Deutsch.

Latest

Allgemein

Braincademy live at indiegogo

Posted on Samstag, September 8th, 2012

Wie einige von euch wissen arbeite ich seit gut einem Jahr an meinem Projekt Braincademy. Anfangs war es ’nur‘ ein Teiler meiner Master-Arbeit, aber spätestens nach der CeBIT (und der glatten 1 als Note für die Arbeit) wusste ich dass diese Anwendung nicht in der Schublade verschwinden soll/wird.   So entschloss ich mich bei einem […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 18: Konzept zum schulischen Einsatz und Ausblick

Posted on Sonntag, Juli 22nd, 2012

Zusammenfassend kann gesagt werden, dass die Ziele der Arbeit erreicht wurden, auch wenn nicht alle Komponenten der Anwendung, die im Grobkonzept geplant waren, umgesetzt wurden. Deshalb müsste das Lernspiel vor dem tatsächlichen Einsatz in Schulen um diese offenen Punkte ergänzt werden. Dazu gehört neben dem Erstellen der zum jeweiligen Unterricht passenden Fragen-Datenbanken die Erstellung des […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 17: Evaluation und Einsatz der Anwendung

Posted on Sonntag, Juli 15th, 2012

Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es gewesen, eine Edutainment-Anwendung für natürliche Benutzeroberflächen zu entwickeln, die im Unterricht und zu Hause eingesetzt werden kann. Sie sollte Kinder und Jugendliche auf eine spaßige Weiße dazu animieren, ihr gelerntes Wissen zu testen und durch das Spielen zu festigen. Dabei wurde darauf geachtet, dass die Lernenden durch ansprechende Animationen, Zwischensequenzen […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 16: Vorstellung der Mini-Spiele

Posted on Sonntag, Juli 8th, 2012

Mini-Spiele innerhalb der Anwendung stellen eine Abwechslung zu den Fragerunden dar. Sie sollen die Spieler primär unterhalten und stellen nicht unbedingt den Anspruch, Lehrinhalte abzufragen. Durch die verschiedenen Systeme, auf denen die Anwendung lauffähig sein wird, muss jedes Mini-Spiel selbst festlegen, welche Anforderungen es hat, um spielbar zu sein. Bei der Auswahl der Mini-Spiele müssen […]

Continue Reading...
Making the Game

Making The Game – Teil 15: Spielablauf und Spielphasen

Posted on Sonntag, Juli 1st, 2012

Die Entwicklung der Spielekomponente ist einer der aufwendigsten und größten Teile in der Anwendung. Deswegen wird während der Analyse und Designphase ein Ablaufplan des Spiels aus der Sicht des Spielers erstellt (siehe Abbildung rechts). Nach der Auswahl, wie viele Spieler an der Runde teilnehmen, wird den Kandidaten der generelle Ablauf erklärt, woraufhin mit einem kurzen […]

Continue Reading...

News

Braincademy live at indiegogo


Wie einige von euch wissen arbeite ich seit gut einem Jahr an meinem Projekt Braincademy. Anfangs war es ’nur‘ ein Teiler meiner Master-Arbeit, aber spätestens nach der CeBIT (und der glatten 1 als Note für die Arbeit) wusste ich dass diese Anwendung nicht in der Schublade verschwinden soll/wird.   So entschloss ich mich bei einem […]

Call me Master of the Universe… or another!


Nun ist es offiziell und ich darf mich Master of Science (M. Sc.) nennen. Nach meiner überragenden Leistung in meiner Master-Thesis (japp, 1.0… was auch sonst) ist aber nun erstmal ein bisschen Urlaub und entspannen angesagt bevor es weiter geht. Zwar wird in meinem Zeugnis stehen dass ich 4 Semester benötigt hätte (das 4. beginnt […]

CeBIT 2012 – Recap


Ich bin etwas spät dran mit meinem CeBIT-Bericht, da mich meine Abschlussarbeit und einige andere Projekte einfach zu sehr aufgehalten haben. Aber besser spät als nie.   Wie schon öfter erwähnt, hatte ich dieses Jahr die Ehre meine Abschlussarbeit und ein weiteres Projekt in dem ich mitgearbeitet habe (Smart Home Control) auf der CeBIT in […]

Long time no see


Durch die vielen Termine seit Dezember – CeBIT, Vorträge, meine Masterarbeit und andere Projekte – kam ich leider nicht dazu hier wie anfangs versprochen Woche für Woche etwas zu posten. Da ich jedoch nun meine Arbeit abgegeben habe und ein bisschen mehr Zeit habe, werde ich dies natürlich nachholen und hier nach und nach die […]

Natural User Interface Vortrag am 05.12.2011 in Darmstadt


An diesem Montag ist es soweit und ich trage in Darmstadt einen Vortrag über Natural User Interfaces. Darin berichte ich nicht nur von der Entwicklung von Benutzeroberflächen im allgemeinen, sondern gehe auch in die Programmierung und gebe einige Beispiele auf welche Punkte man bei NUI-Anwendungen, im Gegensatz zu normalen GUI-Anwendungen, achten muss.   Für alle […]